Akasa InterConnect 5.25" Bay Device with 2.5" HDD/SSD Mount and USB 3.0 vs StarTech.com 5.25in Front Bay to 2.5in SATA Hard Drive and USB 3.0 Panel
Both are 5.25-inch bay panels that hold a 2.5-inch drive and add a front USB 3.0 port, so the choice comes down to speed and setup. The StarTech.com panel passes SATA at up to 6 Gbps and needs no drivers, which makes it the better pick for a fast SSD. The Akasa caps USB at 5 Gb/s and lists Windows-only support. No current prices were provided for either, so compare store prices on this page before buying.
Ask our shopping agent
Akasa InterConnect 5.25" Bay Device with 2.5" HDD/SSD Mount and USB 3.0
Choose the Akasa InterConnect if you want a simple USB 3.0 front port plus a 2.5-inch mount and you run Windows.
- Adds a front USB 3.0 port at 5 Gb/s
- Mounts a 2.5-inch HDD or SSD in a 5.25-inch bay
- Works with Windows XP through 10
- No SATA passthrough speed listed
- OS support limited to Windows
- USB tops out at 5 Gb/s
What separates them
| Akasa InterConnect 5.25" Bay Device with 2.5" HDD/SSD Mount and USB 3.0 | StarTech.com 5.25in Front Bay to 2.5in SATA Hard Drive and USB 3.0 Panel | |
|---|---|---|
| SATA passthrough speed | Not specified; USB limited to 5 Gb/s | Up to 6 Gbps |
| Drive connection | 2.5-inch HDD/SSD mount inside the bay | Internal SATA to the motherboard |
| OS support | Windows XP through 10 | OS independent, no drivers |
| Power source | DC 5V | 1x 4-pin connection, 50 W |
| Front USB | USB 3.0 (5 Gb/s) and USB 2.0 | USB 3.0 panel |
| Stated drive capacity | Not stated | Tested up to 500 GB |
| Form factor | 5.25-inch PC bay | 5.25-inch front bay, rear full-profile slot |
Price history
- Akasa InterConnect 5.25" Bay Device with 2.5" HDD/SSD Mount and USB 3.0: lowest $34.99 on Nov 2 at Performance-PCs.com.
- StarTech.com 5.25in Front Bay to 2.5in SATA Hard Drive and USB 3.0 Panel: lowest $38.15 on Nov 2 at BlueDogInk.
Prices at every store
Akasa InterConnect 5.25" Bay Device with 2.5" HDD/SSD Mount and USB 3.0
- Performance-PCs.comCheck price at Performance-PCs.com
StarTech.com 5.25in Front Bay to 2.5in SATA Hard Drive and USB 3.0 Panel
- BlueDogInkCheck price at BlueDogInk
Specs compared
| Spec | Akasa InterConnect 5.25" Bay Device with 2.5" HDD/SSD Mount and USB 3.0 | StarTech.com 5.25in Front Bay to 2.5in SATA Hard Drive and USB 3.0 Panel |
|---|---|---|
| Application | 5.25 PC bay | — |
| Max Data Transfer Rate | 5Gb/s (USB 3.0) and 480Mb/s (USB 2.0) | — |
| Power Requirement | DC 5V | — |
| Supported OS | Windows XP / Vista / 7 / 8.X / 10 | — |
| Drive Type | — | Hard Drive Tray/Cage, Hard Drive Rack, Hard Dri… |
| Storage Capacity | — | Tested up to 500 GB |
| Storage Type | — | Hard Drive |
| Storage Included | — | No |
| Operating System | — | OS independent, No software or drivers required |
What reviewers say
StarTech.com 5.25in Front Bay to 2.5in SATA Hard Drive and USB 3.0 Panel
Owner feedback on StarTech bay adapters like this is generally positive on fit and function, with the usual complaints about cable routing and the need for a free 5.25-inch bay.
- Solid metal build
- Straightforward install
- USB 3.0 ports work as expected
- Cables can be tight in small cases
- Needs both a USB 3.0 header and Molex power
- Limited to one drive
Questions and answers
- Which is faster for an SSD?
- The StarTech.com panel, which passes SATA at up to 6 Gbps. The Akasa's USB link is capped at 5 Gb/s.
- Do either need drivers?
- The StarTech.com panel is OS independent with no software or drivers. The Akasa lists Windows XP through 10 support.
- Which holds a bigger drive?
- The StarTech.com is tested up to 500 GB. The Akasa does not state a capacity limit.
- Which is easier to install?
- The StarTech.com needs a 4-pin power lead and a rear full-profile slot. The Akasa runs on DC 5V in a 5.25-inch bay.
- Is one worth extra money?
- Only if you need 6 Gbps SATA or driver-free use; otherwise the Akasa's USB port may be enough. Check live prices here first.