DealsBuying guidesBrandsStoresTermsPrivacydeal.ai apps

© Deal.ai Inc.

Deal.ai › Compare

DeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126) vs DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2)

Buy the DCB126 single 5.0Ah pack if you want the longest runtime per battery and already own a charger. Buy the DCB124-2 two-pack if you want two batteries to swap and keep working, or you are starting from scratch. No prices were given for either, so compare the live store prices on this page before deciding.

Ask our shopping agent

Enter to send, Shift+Enter for a new line

DeWalt
DeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126)

DeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126)

4.1· 9 ratings

Choose the DCB126 5.0Ah if you want maximum runtime from one battery and a fuel gauge to check charge level.

Pros
  • Longest single-battery runtime in the 12V MAX line at 5.0Ah.
  • LED fuel gauge shows charge level without a tool.
  • Works with all 12V MAX tools and chargers.
  • Minimum 1 year warranty stated.
  • Cons
    • Only one battery in the box.
    • Heavier than a 3.0Ah pack, which matters on a belt or in tight spots.
    • Higher upfront cost than a single 3.0Ah.
    DeWalt
    DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2)

    DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2)

    Choose the DCB124-2 3.0Ah two-pack if you would rather have two batteries to rotate than one big one.

    Pros
    • Two batteries, so one can charge while you work.
    • 6.0Ah total capacity beats the single 5.0Ah pack.
    • About 1 hour charge time and 1.11 lbs per battery.
    • Cheaper per battery than buying singles.
    Cons
    • No fuel gauge listed.
    • Each battery runs out sooner than the 5.0Ah pack.
    • Warranty terms not stated.

    What separates them

    DeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126)DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2)
    Capacity per battery5.0Ah (60 Wh)3.0Ah
    Batteries in the box12
    Total capacity in the box5.0Ah6.0Ah
    Fuel gaugeLED state-of-charge indicatorNot listed
    Weight per batteryNot listed; 5.0Ah cells are heavier than 3.0Ah1.11 lbs
    Charge timeNot listedAbout 1 hour
    Tool compatibilityAll 12V MAX tools and chargers12V MAX tools and chargers
    WarrantyMinimum 1 year statedNot stated

    Price history

    • DeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126): lowest $79.00 on Oct 30 at Amazon.
    • DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2): lowest $118.39 on Oct 30 at Amazon.

    Prices at every store

    DeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126)

    • Stones Ace ofCheck price at Stones Ace of
    • AmazonCheck price at Amazon
    • Hardware and ToolsCheck price at Hardware and Tools
    Prices and history →

    DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2)

    • AmazonCheck price at Amazon
    • Lowe'sCheck price at Lowe's
    Prices and history →

    Specs compared

    SpecDeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126)DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2)
    ConditionNew—
    Style1 Pack—
    Battery Capacity—3 Ah
    Battery Voltage—12 V
    Voltage—12 V
    Number of Pieces—2
    Product Length—6 in
    Charge Time—1 hour(s)
    Product Height—7.85 in
    Product Width—3.25 in
    Battery Type—12V MAX*
    Product Weight—1.11 lbs
    Show all 14 specsShow fewer specs
    SpecDeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126)DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2)
    Battery Chemistry—Lithium Ion
    Package Weight—1.11 lbs.

    Questions and answers

    Which gives more total runtime, the 5.0Ah single or the 3.0Ah two-pack?
    The two-pack. Two 3.0Ah batteries total 6.0Ah against 5.0Ah for the single pack. The single pack wins only if you want one battery that runs longest without a swap.
    Which is better for tight spots and overhead work?
    The 3.0Ah two-pack. Each battery weighs 1.11 lbs, lighter than a 5.0Ah pack, so drills and drivers stay balanced on ladders and in cabinets.
    Do both fit the same DeWalt 12V MAX tools?
    Yes. Both are 12V MAX lithium-ion packs and fit 12V MAX tools and chargers, including XTREME 12V MAX.
    Which one lasts longer over its life?
    Both use lithium-ion cells and should hold up similarly with normal use. The two-pack spreads wear across two batteries, so a single pack is worked harder.
    Is the 5.0Ah pack worth the extra money?
    Only if you need maximum runtime from one battery or want the fuel gauge. If you mostly do short jobs, the two-pack gives more total capacity and flexibility.
    Can I charge the 3.0Ah batteries in about an hour?
    Yes, the listed charge time is about 1 hour. Charge time for the 5.0Ah pack is not listed and will be longer on the same charger.

    More comparisons

    • DeWalt 12V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB126) vs DeWALT 12V Oil Resistant 5Ah Battery
    • DeWALT 12V Oil Resistant 5Ah Battery vs DEWALT 12V MAX 3.0-Ah Battery 2-Pack (DCB124-2)