Black FridayDealsBuying guidesBrandsStoresTermsPrivacydeal.ai apps

© Deal.ai Inc.

Deal.ai › Compare

DEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool Only vs DeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit

Buy the 12 in. 20V MAX if you want a light limbing saw and already own DEWALT 20V batteries. Buy the 16 in. 60V MAX if you cut firewood or felled trunks and need more bar and power. The 12 in. bare tool is listed at $159 at Distritech as of November 3; the 16 in. kit is listed at $299 at Ace Hardware as of November 3.

Ask our shopping agent

Enter to send, Shift+Enter for a new line

DEWALT
DEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool Only

DEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool Only

4.7· 47 ratings

Choose the 12 in. 20V MAX if you trim branches overhead, want an 11 lb saw, and already have 20V MAX batteries.

Pros
  • Light at 11 lb for overhead limb work
  • Low-kickback bar and chain plus chain brake
  • Tool-free chain tensioning and automatic oiler
Cheapest way in if you already own 20V MAX batteries
Cons
  • Bare tool: no battery or charger
  • 10.5 in. max cut limits it to limbs and small logs
  • Less chain speed and torque than the 60V saw
DeWalt
DeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit

DeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit

4.3· 1,597 ratings

Choose the 16 in. 60V MAX if you cut larger logs, want a 16 in. Oregon bar, and need the FLEXVOLT battery in the box.

Pros
  • 16 in. Oregon bar and chain for bigger cuts
  • 60V power with 15 m/s chain speed
  • FLEXVOLT battery also runs your 20V MAX tools
  • Anti-vibration handle and tool-free tensioning
Cons
  • $299 kit costs about $140 more than the bare 20V saw
  • Heavier and longer, harder to use one-handed overhead
  • Lower rating score than the 12 in. saw

What separates them

DEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool OnlyDeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit
Bar length12 in.16 in.
Voltage and platform20V MAX60V MAX, FLEXVOLT battery works in 20V tools
Weight11 lbAbout 9.3 lb (4,200 g)
Battery in the boxNo, bare toolYes, FLEXVOLT 20V/60V battery
Max cut diameter10.5 in.Not stated; 16 in. bar
Chain speedNot stated15 m/s
Price$159 at Distritech as of November 3$299 at Ace Hardware as of November 3
Ratings4.7 of 5 from 47 ratings4.3 of 5 from 1,597 ratings

Price history

  • DEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool Only: lowest $169.99 on Nov 1 at Amazon.
  • DeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit: lowest $389.00 on Nov 1 at Home Depot.

Prices at every store

DEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool Only

  • WalmartCheck price at Walmart
  • AmazonCheck price at Amazon
  • Home DepotCheck price at Home Depot
Prices and history →

DeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit

  • Home DepotCheck price at Home Depot
Prices and history →

Specs compared

SpecDEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool OnlyDeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit
Weight11 lb4200 g
Material Compatibility4x4 pressure treated woodWood, Wood (pressure treated pine wood beam)
Cutting MaterialWoodWood
Safety HighlightsLow kickbackChain brake for kick back protection
Power SourceBatteryBattery, Cordless Electric
CordlessYesYes
Voltage20V MAX60 V
Battery IncludedNoNo
Power HighlightsGas-free operationTool Only
Chain BrakeYesYes
Anti-KickbackYesYes, Yes (Low-kickback bar and chain)
Blade Length12 in.16 in.
Show all 40 specsShow fewer specs
SpecDEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool OnlyDeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit
Blade TypeChain, Low kickback bar and chainOregon bar and chain
Blade Change SystemTool-free chain tensioningTool-free chain tensioning
Blade IncludedYesYes, Yes (Oregon bar and chain)
Blade Speed20V (feet/minute)15 m/s (Chain speed)
Blade HighlightsLow kickbackLow-kickback
colorYellow—
Power typeBattery—
BrandDEWALT—
Chainsaw bar length12 in—

What reviewers say

DEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool Only

Owner feedback on this saw is generally positive, with 4.7 out of 5 from 47 ratings. Buyers tend to praise its light weight and easy chain adjustment for yard work. Complaints center on runtime with small batteries and its limits on bigger wood.

Pros
  • Light and easy to handle for limbing
  • Tool-free chain tensioning is quick
  • Quiet, fume-free alternative to a gas saw
  • Works with batteries owners already have
Cons
  • Short runtime on smaller 20V packs
  • Struggles with larger logs
  • Needs bar oil and chain checks regularly

DeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit

Owners rate it well as a quiet, low-maintenance saw for yard work and light felling. Most praise the power for its size and the easy chain adjustments; the common complaints are weight and run time on bigger jobs.

Pros
  • Plenty of power for a battery saw
  • Quiet and no gas mixing or pull starting
  • Tool-free tensioning is quick to use
  • Runs cool and starts every time
Cons
  • Heavy with the battery mounted
  • Run time drops in hard or wet wood
  • 16 in. bar is short for larger trunks

Questions and answers

Which is better for pruning tree limbs?
The 12 in. 20V MAX. At 11 lb with a 12 in. bar it is easier to control overhead, and its 10.5 in. max cut covers most branches.
Which handles firewood and larger logs?
The 16 in. 60V MAX. The longer Oregon bar and 15 m/s chain speed cut bigger diameters than the 12 in. saw's 10.5 in. maximum.
Do I need to buy a battery for the 12 in. saw?
Yes. The 12 in. saw is bare tool only, so add a 20V MAX battery and charger unless you already own them. The 16 in. kit includes a FLEXVOLT battery.
Is the 16 in. saw worth the extra money?
If you cut logs or fell small trees, yes. At $299 at Ace Hardware as of November 3 it includes a FLEXVOLT battery that also powers 20V MAX tools; the $159 Distritech saw as of November 3 has no battery.
Which lasts longer?
Both use brushless motors. The 60V saw adds auto-oiling and a bar retention knob for proper clamping, which helps bar and chain life; the 20V saw is the simpler, lighter machine.
Can one battery run both saws?
Only the 60V kit's FLEXVOLT battery. It is backwards compatible with 20V MAX tools, but a plain 20V MAX battery cannot run the 60V saw.

More comparisons

  • DEWALT 20V MAX 12" Cordless Chainsaw, Bare Tool Only vs DeWalt DCCS623L1 20V Max Cordless Brushless 8 Inch Pruning Chainsaw Kit with 3.0 Ah Lithium-Ion Battery & Charger
  • DeWalt 60V MAX Brushless Cordless 16 in. Chainsaw Kit vs DeWalt DCCS623L1 20V Max Cordless Brushless 8 Inch Pruning Chainsaw Kit with 3.0 Ah Lithium-Ion Battery & Charger
Rec. useResidential—
FeaturesAutomatic Chain Oiler, Anti-Vibration, Chain Br…—
Handle typeRear Handle—
Chain pitch0.37 in—
Number of drive links45—
Volts20 Volts—
Assembled product height9 in—
ModelDCCS621B—
Cutting Capacity10.5 in. (maximum cut diameter)—
Cutting Depth26.1 in—
Blade Diameter1 in—
Electric BrakeQuick-Stop Blade Brake—
Motor Power1200 W—
Motor TypeBrushless—
Saw Use—Cutting
Usage Highlights—Chainsaw
Anti-Vibration System—Yes
Vibration Reduction Highlights—Anti-Vibration Handle
Bar Length—16 in.