Black FridayDealsBuying guidesBrandsStoresTermsPrivacydeal.ai apps

© Deal.ai Inc.

Deal.ai › Compare

DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver vs DeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver

Buy the 20V MAX combo if you need to drive long screws, bore holes, or work all day on one battery. Buy the XTREME 12V drill if you want a light drill for cabinet, furniture, and around-the-house work. The combo's best new price is $145.00 at eBay as of November 4, 2026, against $73.79 at eBay for the 12V drill. The combo's price has swung between $129.00 and $173.98 since November 1, so it is worth watching the history.

Today the DeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver costs $84.03 less at its best price.

Ask our shopping agent

Enter to send, Shift+Enter for a new line

DeWalt
DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver

DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver

4.6· 8,482 ratings
$173.98at eBayObserved at 1:29 AM
Visit store

Choose the 20V MAX combo if you need two tools, high fastening torque, and 20V batteries that share DeWalt's larger cordless lineup.

Pros
  • Two tools cover drilling and fastening.
  • 1,700 in-lb impact driver handles long screws and lag bolts.
  • Brushless motor and 20V batteries share DeWalt's wider 20V MAX lineup.
  • Contractor bag holds both tools, batteries, and charger.
Cons
  • Heavier at 2.8 lbs for the impact driver.
  • 1.3 Ah batteries run down faster under heavy load.
  • Costs roughly twice the 12V drill.
  • Price moved from $129.00 to $173.98 in four days.
DeWalt
DeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver

DeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver

$89.95at AmazonObserved at 2:02 AM
Visit store

Choose the XTREME 12V drill if you want one compact, light drill that fits in tight spots and costs about half as much.

Pros
  • Light at 1.9 lbs and short at 5.97 in.
  • 15 clutch settings give fine control for small screws.
  • Two 2.0 Ah batteries charge in 47 minutes.
  • $73.79 is about half the combo's price.
Cons
  • 250 UWO is far less torque than the combo's impact driver.
  • 3/8 in chuck limits it to smaller bits.
  • No impact driver for heavy fastening.
  • 12V batteries do not fit 20V MAX tools.

What separates them

DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact DriverDeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver
Tools includedDrill/driver plus 1/4 in impact driverDrill/driver only
Max torque1,700 in-lb on the impact driver250 UWO on the drill
Chuck1/2 in on the drill3/8 in keyless
Weight2.8 lbs (impact driver)1.9 lbs (tool only)
LengthNot stated for the drill5.97 in, compact for tight spaces
BatteriesTwo 20V MAX 1.3 AhTwo 12V MAX 2.0 Ah
Charge timeNot stated47 minutes
Best new price$145.00 at eBay as of November 4, 2026$73.79 at eBay as of November 4, 2026

Price history

$173.98$89.95
Nov 1Nov 4
  • DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver: lowest $129.00 on Nov 1 at Amazon; $173.98 on Nov 4.
  • DeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver: lowest $89.95 on Nov 4 at Amazon.

Prices at every store

DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver

  • eBayNew

    In stockSold by estoreva1

    $173.98Free shippingObserved at 1:29 AM
    Visit store
  • Tractor Supply CompanyNew

    In stock

    $239.00+ $5.99 shippingObserved Nov 3, 2026, 1:27 PM
    Visit store
  • McCoy's Building SupplyNew

    In stock

    $246.75Observed Nov 3, 2026, 1:27 PM
    Visit store
  • WalmartNew

    In stockSold by Perfect Seller MC

    $295.50Observed at 1:29 AM
    Visit store

Also available at

  • eBayCheck price at eBay
  • AmazonCheck price at Amazon
  • The Home DepotCheck price at The Home Depot
All 5 stores and price history →

DeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver

  • WalmartNew

    In stockSold by WB TOOLS

    $189.00Free shippingObserved at 8:22 PM
    Visit store
  • AmazonNew

    Availability unknown

    As an Amazon Associate, Deal.ai earns from qualifying purchases.

    $89.95Free shippingObserved at 2:02 AM
    Visit store
  • Lowe'sNew

    Availability unknown

    $169.00+ $80.00 shippingObserved at 8:22 PM
    Visit store

Also available at

  • eBayCheck price at eBay
All 3 stores and price history →

Specs compared

SpecDeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact DriverDeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver
Battery voltage20 volts12V
Motor typebrushlessBrushless
Power SourceBattery, CordlessBattery
Battery TypeLithium IonLithium Ion
Included AccessoriesChargerBelt Clip, Tool Bag
Weight2.8 lbs (DCF885)1.9 lbs. (tool only)
Impact driver torque1,700 in-lb.—
Impact driver speedup to 3,200 RPM—
Impact driver chuck size1/4 in.—
Nominal voltage18—
Number Of Tools2—
Tool ComponentsImpact Driver—
Show all 40 specsShow fewer specs
SpecDeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact DriverDeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver
Number Of Batteries2—
SpeedTwo speed transmission (0-450 / 0-1500 RPM)—
Case IncludedYes—
Case TypeContractor bag—
MaterialBlend—
ColorsMulticolor—
Intended ApplicationDrilling—
Typical UsersProfessionals—
Voltage—12V
Chuck Size

What reviewers say

DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver

Rated 4.6 out of 5 from 8,482 ratings. Owners treat it as a dependable first combo kit and a good value when it drops near $129.

Pros
  • Reliable power for drilling and driving around the house
  • Light enough for overhead work
  • Batteries and charger included make it ready to use
  • Good value at sale prices
Cons
  • Small 1.3 Ah batteries drain quickly on big jobs
  • Some wish it came with a hard case
  • Impact driver is an older model

DeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver

Owners of the XTREME 12V line generally rate it highly for size and weight, calling it a handy companion to a full-size 18V or 20V drill. The common knock is power: it drives screws and bores small holes fine but bogs down on bigger bits and hard materials.

Pros
  • Very compact and light in hand
  • Smooth trigger and clutch control
  • Good battery life for its size
  • Solid build for the price
Cons
  • Stalls on larger bits and dense wood
  • Chuck is small for 1/2-inch shanks
  • Battery platform is separate from 20V tools

Questions and answers

Which is better for driving long screws?
The 20V MAX combo. Its impact driver delivers 1,700 in-lb, while the 12V drill tops out at 250 UWO. For deck screws and lag bolts, the combo is the right tool.
Which is better for furniture and cabinet work?
The XTREME 12V drill. At 1.9 lbs and 5.97 in long, it fits where the combo's drill will not, and 15 clutch settings help avoid stripping small screws.
Is the 20V combo worth the extra money?
If you need an impact driver or plan to add more 20V MAX tools, yes. At $145.00 versus $73.79 as of November 4, 2026, you get a second tool and a bigger battery platform.
Which has better battery life?
The 12V kit ships with 2.0 Ah batteries versus 1.3 Ah in the combo, and charges them in 47 minutes. The 20V tools draw more power, so expect shorter runtime per charge under heavy load.
Can I use the same batteries in both?
No. The combo uses 20V MAX batteries and the 12V drill uses 12V MAX batteries. They are separate platforms.
Which is better for a first tool kit?
The 20V MAX combo covers more jobs out of the box. The 12V drill is the cheaper start if your work is light drilling and small fasteners.

More comparisons

  • DEWALT 20V MAX XR Hammer Drill and ATOMIC Impact Driver 2 Tool Cordless Combo Kit with (2) 4.0Ah Batteries, Charger, and Bag DCK2050M2 vs DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver
  • DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver vs DeWalt 20V MAX 1/2" Drill/Driver Kit DCD800P1
  • DeWalt DCD793D1 20V MAX Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Kit vs DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver
  • DEWALT 20V MAX XR Hammer Drill and ATOMIC Impact Driver 2 Tool Cordless Combo Kit with (2) 4.0Ah Batteries, Charger, and Bag DCK2050M2 vs DeWalt XTREME 12V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver
  • DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver vs Worx Nitro 20V Cordless Oscillating Multi Tool
  • DeWalt 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless Hammer Drill dcd1007b vs DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver
  • SKIL 20V Brushless Drill Driver & Impact Driver Combo Kit Including 20V 2.0Ah battery and Charger-CB8002B-10 vs DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver
  • Craftsman V20 Cordless 4 Tool Combo Kit With Two 2.0 Ah Batteries And Charger vs DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver

Buying guides that pick them

  • Best cheap DeWalt power tools
  • Best DeWalt cordless drill drivers
  • Best DEWALT cordless drills for home DIY
  • Best cheap cordless power tools for home use
—
3/8 in.
Length—5.97 in.
Clutch Settings—15
Transmission—2-Speed
Battery Capacity—2.0 Ah
Tool Type—Basic Drill, Drill Driver Kit, Drill Driver
Power Type—Cordless
Power Voltage—12V
Amperage—2 Amps
Chuck Type—Keyless
Max Speed—1500 RPM
Torque—250 UWO (Maximum Power Output)
Capacity—Can accept up to a 1/2-in spade bit
Battery Included—Yes
Number Of Batteries Included—2
Battery Charging Time—47 minutes
Height—9.875 in (Package Height)
Width—4.375 in (Package Width)
Functionality Highlights—2-speed transmission