Shop
  • Deals
  • Black Friday
  • Buying guides
  • Brands
  • Stores
Travel
  • Flight deals
  • Hotel deals
Company
  • Research
  • Press
  • deal.ai apps
Black Friday 2026
  • Walmart
  • Best Buy
  • Target
  • TVs
  • Laptops
  • Headphones
  • Apple
  • Gaming
  • Vacuums
  • Kitchen
  • Toys
  • Smartwatches
  • Tablets
  • Furniture
  • Mattresses
© Deal.ai Inc.
TermsPrivacy
BrowseBrowse deal.ai
Deal.ai › Compare

Honest Kitchen Whole Food Clusters Small Breed vs Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed

Buy the Honest Kitchen clusters if you want human-grade ingredients, all-life-stage feeding and a food that doubles as training treats. Buy Blue Buffalo Freedom if you want the lower price and an adult-only small-breed formula with glucosamine for joints. On November 7, 2026, Blue Buffalo is $21.98 at Walmart and Honest Kitchen is $28.49 at Amazon, so Blue Buffalo costs about $6.50 less per 4 lb bag.

Today the Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed costs $6.51 less at its best price.

Ask our shopping agent

It checks today's price at every store, compares the alternatives and answers in about a minute.

Enter to send, Shift+Enter for a new line

G
Grain Free Chicken Whole Food Clusters for Small Breeds

Honest Kitchen Whole Food Clusters Small Breed

Grain Free Chicken Whole Food Clusters for Small Breeds

4.8(635 ratings)
$28.49at Amazon
Observed at 10:35 PM
See all prices and details
Visit Amazon

Choose the Honest Kitchen clusters if your dog is a puppy, senior or picky small breed and you want human-grade ingredients you can also use as treats.

Pros
  • Human-grade ingredients with no meat meals or fillers
  • All life stages, so one bag works for puppies through seniors
  • Works as a main meal, a topper or training treats
  • 400 kcal per cup makes portioning for weight control easy
  • 4.8 out of 5 from 635 ratings
Cons
  • About $6.50 more per 4 lb bag than Blue Buffalo
  • Clusters are hard; older dogs may need them softened
  • A 4 lb bag does not last long for some households
Blue Buffalo
Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Potatoes, 4 lbs.

Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed

Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Potatoes, 4 lbs.

4.7(163 ratings)
$21.98at WalmartObserved at 11:33 PM
See all prices and details
Visit Walmart

Choose Blue Buffalo Freedom if you have an adult small dog and want grain-free chicken kibble with glucosamine at the lowest price per bag.

Pros
  • Lowest price of the two at $21.98 for 4 lbs
  • Glucosamine supports joints in small adult dogs
  • Chicken is the first ingredient, with no by-product meals
  • Free of corn, wheat and soy
Cons
  • Adult dogs only, not for puppies or seniors needing all-life-stage food
  • No protein, fat or calorie figures in the listing
  • Fewer ratings than the Honest Kitchen food

What separates them

Honest Kitchen Whole Food Clusters Small BreedBlue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed
Price per 4 lb bag$28.49 at Amazon as of November 7, 2026$21.98 at Walmart as of November 7, 2026
Life stageAll life stages, including puppies and seniorsAdult only
Ingredient standardHuman-grade, cold-pressed and roasted clustersStandard kibble; no by-product meals, corn, wheat or soy
Joint supportNo glucosamine listedGlucosamine for joint function and mobility
Calories400 kcal per cup; 3,940 kcal/kgNot stated in the listing
Protein and fat (min)26.5% protein, 15.5% fatNot stated in the listing
TextureHard clusters; some older dogs need them softenedStandard small-breed kibble
Ratings4.8 out of 5 from 635 ratings4.7 out of 5 from 163 ratings

Price history

  • Honest Kitchen Whole Food Clusters Small Breed: lowest $25.59 on Nov 7 at Petco.com.
  • Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed: lowest $17.58 on Nov 7 at Petco.com.

Prices at every store

Honest Kitchen Whole Food Clusters Small Breed

  • Petco.comNew

    In stock

    $25.59+ $6.99 shippingObserved at 11:35 PM
    Visit Petco.com
  • Chewy.comNew

    In stock

    $29.39+ $4.95 shippingObserved at 11:35 PM
    Visit Chewy.com
  • PetSmartNew

    In stock

    $29.39+ $6.99 shippingObserved at 11:35 PM
    Visit PetSmart
  • AmazonNew

    Availability unknown

    As an Amazon Associate, Deal.ai earns from qualifying purchases.

    $28.49Observed at 10:35 PM
    Visit Amazon

Also available at

  • The Honest KitchenCheck price at The Honest Kitchen
All 5 stores and price history →

Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed

  • WalmartNew

    In stock

    $21.98Observed at 11:33 PM
    Visit Walmart
  • Petco.comNew

    In stock

    $17.58+ $6.99 shippingObserved at 11:35 PM
    Visit Petco.com
  • Chewy.comNew

    In stock

    $21.98+ $4.95 shippingObserved at 11:35 PM
    Visit Chewy.com
  • Brothers Country SupplyNew

    Availability unknown

    $21.98Observed at 11:35 PM
    Visit Brothers Country Supply

Also available at

  • D&B SupplyCheck price at D&B Supply
  • WalmartCheck price at Walmart
All 6 stores and price history →

Specs compared

SpecHonest Kitchen Whole Food Clusters Small BreedBlue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed
Food TypeDryDry Food, Veterinary Diets
Breed SizeSmall BreedSmall Breed
Life StageAll Life StagesAdult
FlavorChickenChicken
FormDryDry
Pet Food TypeDog FoodDog Food
Dietary HighlightsGrain FreeGrain Free
Health BenefitHealthy weightImmune system support
Pet TypeDogDog
Suitable Health ConcernWeight managementHip & Joint Care
Suitable BreedSmall Breed, All breedsSmall breed dogs
Texture ConsistencyClustersKibble
Show all 40 specsShow fewer specs
SpecHonest Kitchen Whole Food Clusters Small BreedBlue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed
Main IngredientChickenChicken
Ingredient TypeEggs, Chia seed, Coconut oil, Dried kelpChicken
Packaging StyleBagBag
Food SubtypeClustersKibble
Food HighlightsHuman-gradeAntioxidant-rich LifeSource Bits
Bag Weight4 lb bag = approximately 16 cups of food—
Caloric Content3940 (kCal/kg) 400 (kCal) per cup—
Protein (min)26.5%—
Fat (min)15.5%—

What reviewers say

Honest Kitchen Whole Food Clusters Small Breed

  • 4.8 / 5635 ratings

Rated 4.8 out of 5 from 635 ratings, buyers mostly report dogs love the taste and the small kibble size fits small mouths. Several say it helped with stomach issues their dogs had on previous kibble. The main complaints are cost and how quickly a bag runs out.

What people mention
  • TastePraisedBuyers say dogs eat it eagerly, even picky ones.
  • Kibble sizePraisedThe small clusters suit small breeds and double as training treats.
  • IngredientsPraisedOwners value the human-grade, grain-free recipe with no fillers.
  • DigestionPraisedSome report fewer stomach issues than on their previous kibble.

Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed

  • 4.7 / 5163 ratings

Rated 4.7 out of 5 from 163 ratings, buyers mostly report small dogs eating it readily and doing well on it. Complaints tend to center on price and bag size rather than the food itself.

What people mention
  • PalatabilityPraisedOwners say small dogs eat it without coaxing, even picky ones.
  • Kibble sizePraisedThe pieces are small enough for toy and small breeds to chew comfortably.
  • DigestionMixedMany report firm stools and less gas, while some dogs needed a slow switch to avoid loose stools.
  • CoatPraised

Questions and answers

Which is better for a puppy?
The Honest Kitchen clusters. They are labeled all life stages, while Blue Buffalo Freedom is adult only.
Which is better for an older small dog?
Blue Buffalo Freedom adds glucosamine for joints, but its kibble is standard adult food. The Honest Kitchen clusters are all-life-stage but hard, so soften them for senior dogs.
Is the Honest Kitchen food worth the extra $6.50?
If human-grade ingredients and all-life-stage feeding matter to you, yes. If you just want grain-free chicken kibble for an adult dog, Blue Buffalo does the job for less.
Which has more protein?
The Honest Kitchen lists 26.5% minimum protein and 15.5% minimum fat. Blue Buffalo does not publish those figures in its listing, so a direct comparison is not possible.
Can I use the Honest Kitchen clusters as treats?
Yes. The maker says to serve them as a main meal, pair with a topper or use them as training treats.
Which lasts longer per bag?
Both are 4 lb bags. The Honest Kitchen bag holds about 16 cups at 400 kcal per cup; Blue Buffalo does not state cups or calories, so check the bag label.

More comparisons

  • Nature's Recipe Grain Free Small Breed Dry Dog Food Chicken, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin, 12 lb Bag vs Blue Buffalo Freedom Grain-Free Small Breed Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Potatoes, 4 lbs.
  • Nature's Recipe Grain Free Small Breed Dry Dog Food Chicken, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin, 12 lb Bag vs Grain Free Chicken Whole Food Clusters for Small Breeds

Buying guides that pick them

  • Best grain-free dog food for small dogs
Fiber (max)
5%
—
Moisture (max)12%—
size—4 lbs
Ingredients—Carrot, Potato, Chicken, Turkey, Peas
Packaging—Bag
Nutrients—Copper, Calcium, Taurine, Phosphorus, Omega-3, …
Age Group—Adult
Special Diets—Fur & Skin Care, Digestion and Stomach, Joints …
Vitamins—Vitamin B, Vitamin E, Vitamin D, Vitamin A, Vit…
Weight (lb)—4.0
Animal breed—Small Breed
Animal health concern—Hip & Joint Care, Energy & Vitality Support, Im…
Animal lifestage—Adult
Pet food flavor—Chicken
Pet food condition—Dry
Product line—Freedom
Brand—Blue Buffalo
Meat type—Chicken
Pet food form—Kibble
Several owners mention shinier coats and less scratching after switching.