Wild-Caught Salmon Grain-Free Dog Kibble vs Orijen Original Grain-Free Dry Dog Food
Buy the Open Farm salmon kibble if your dog does better on fish than chicken or has a poultry sensitivity. Buy the Orijen Original 31 lb bag if you want one food for a puppy through senior and a lower cost per pound. The Open Farm is $27.99 at Jake's Pet Supply as of November 4, 2026; the Orijen is $113.89 at eBay. The Open Farm bag size is not stated, so compare cost per pound before deciding on price alone.
Ask our shopping agent

Wild-Caught Salmon Grain-Free Dog Kibble
4.9Choose the Open Farm salmon kibble if your dog scratches or has loose stools on chicken-based food, or if you want a single fish protein with 30% protein and 0.11% DHA.
- Fish-first recipe for dogs that itch or shed on chicken.
- 30% protein and 0.11% DHA, which supports puppy brain development.
- Grain-free with no corn, wheat or soy.
What separates them
| Wild-Caught Salmon Grain-Free Dog Kibble | Orijen Original Grain-Free Dry Dog Food | |
|---|---|---|
| Main protein | Wild-caught Pacific salmon, plus whitefish and herring meal | Chicken |
| Crude protein | 30% | Not stated in the listing specs |
| Crude fat | 14% | Not stated in the listing specs |
| Life stage | Adult, puppy (small and medium breed), senior | All ages |
| DHA | 0.11%, plus 0.4% omega-3 | Not stated in the listing specs |
| Bag size | Not stated | 31 lb |
| Price | $27.99 at Jake's Pet Supply as of November 4, 2026 | $113.89 at eBay as of November 4, 2026 |
| Stated health focus |
Price history
- Wild-Caught Salmon Grain-Free Dog Kibble: lowest $29.99 on Nov 4 at Lifetime Pet Olathe.
- Orijen Original Grain-Free Dry Dog Food: lowest $89.99 on Oct 29.
Prices at every store
Wild-Caught Salmon Grain-Free Dog Kibble
- Jake's Pet SupplyNew
In stockReturn policy
$27.99Verified - Pet SpawtNew
In stockReturn policy
$27.99Verified - AmazonNew
Availability unknown
As an Amazon Associate, Deal.ai earns from qualifying purchases.
$29.99Observed at 11:10 AM
Also available at
- Anaheim Feed & Pet SupplyCheck price at Anaheim Feed & Pet Supply
- K9 LoftCheck price at K9 Loft
- Lifetime Pet OlatheCheck price at Lifetime Pet Olathe
Specs compared
| Spec | Wild-Caught Salmon Grain-Free Dog Kibble | Orijen Original Grain-Free Dry Dog Food |
|---|---|---|
| Life Stage | Adult, Puppy (small & medium breed), Senior | All Ages |
| Health Benefit | Skin & coat | Digestive Health |
| Flavor | Salmon | Chicken |
| Crude protein | 30% | — |
| Crude fat | 14% | — |
| Crude fiber | 4.5% | — |
| Moisture | 10% | — |
| DHA | 0.11% | — |
| Calcium | 1.2% | — |
| Phosphorus | 1% | — |
| Vitamin A |
What reviewers say
Wild-Caught Salmon Grain-Free Dog Kibble
Owners rate it very highly, with 4.9 out of 5 across 1,081 ratings. Most praise the ingredient list and report shinier coats and fewer itchy reactions on fish instead of chicken. The main complaints are the price and dogs that refuse the salmon smell.
- Shiny coats and less scratching on a fish-based diet
- Clean, readable ingredient list
- Works well for dogs with chicken allergies
- Firm, consistent stools
- Expensive per bag
- Some dogs refuse the strong fish smell
- Grain-free formula worries some owners
Orijen Original Grain-Free Dry Dog Food
Owners generally rate Orijen Original highly for coat condition, energy and firm stools, and many report it works well for picky eaters. The most common complaints are the price and digestive upset in dogs switched over too quickly.
Questions and answers
- Which is better for a dog with a chicken allergy?
- The Open Farm. Its proteins are salmon, whitefish and herring, with no chicken. The Orijen Original is a chicken recipe.
- Which is better for a puppy?
- Both are labeled for puppies. The Open Farm lists puppy feeding for small and medium breeds and states 0.11% DHA. The Orijen is labeled all ages but gives no DHA figure.
- Is the Open Farm worth it over the Orijen?
- Only if your dog needs fish protein. At $27.99 versus $113.89 the Open Farm bag is cheaper, but its size is unlisted, so check cost per pound first.
- Which lasts longer?
- The Orijen, on bag size alone: 31 lb is confirmed. The Open Farm bag size is not stated, so you cannot compare shelf life per dollar.
- Which is better for a senior dog?
- The Open Farm lists senior as a life stage. The Orijen covers all ages but gives no senior-specific figures.