Black FridayDealsBuying guidesBrandsStoresTermsPrivacydeal.ai apps

© Deal.ai Inc.

Deal.ai › Compare

Amazon Kindle Scribe vs Amazon Kindle (2026)

Buy the Kindle Scribe if you take handwritten notes, mark up PDFs, or read large-format documents; its 10.2-inch 300 ppi screen and included pen are the reason to pay more. Buy the Kindle (2026) if you mainly read novels and want the lightest, cheapest Kindle. As of November 3, 2026, the Scribe's best new price is $275.49 at eBay and the Kindle (2026) is $149.99 at Best Buy, a gap of about $125.

Today the Amazon Kindle (2026) costs $132.50 less at its best price.

Ask our shopping agent

Enter to send, Shift+Enter for a new line

Amazon
Amazon Kindle Scribe

Amazon Kindle Scribe

4.7· 619 ratings
$275.49at eBayObserved Nov 3, 2026, 12:08 PM
Visit store

Choose the Kindle Scribe if you want a 10.2-inch paper-like screen for handwriting notes, journaling, and PDF markup, and you don't need waterproofing.

Pros
  • Large 10.2-inch 300 ppi glare-free screen suits PDFs and textbooks
  • Pen included for handwriting in books, notes, and planners
  • Adjustable warm light and auto-adjusting front light
  • Bluetooth for Audible audiobooks
  • Works as a digital notebook, journal, and planner

What separates them

Amazon Kindle ScribeAmazon Kindle (2026)
Screen size10.2 inches6 inches
Resolution300 ppiNot stated; standard Kindle density
Stylus and note-takingPen included; write in books, PDFs, journalsNo pen support; touch reading only
StorageFixed internal storage, no card slot16 GB
Water resistanceNot waterproofNot stated
Weight433 gLighter 6-inch body
Battery lifeWeeks per chargeUp to 6 weeks
Price (Nov 3, 2026)$275.49 at eBay

Price history

$367.99$95.99
Oct 28Nov 4
  • Amazon Kindle Scribe: lowest $250.00 on Oct 30; $275.49 on Nov 3.
  • Amazon Kindle (2026): lowest $95.99 on Nov 4.

Prices at every store

Amazon Kindle Scribe

  • eBayNew

    Availability unknown

    $275.49Observed Nov 3, 2026, 12:08 PM
    Visit store
  • EnergyEarthNew

    Availability unknown

    $349.99Observed Nov 3, 2026, 12:08 PM
    Visit store
  • PacmaxNew

    Availability unknown

    $385.00Observed Nov 3, 2026, 3:57 AM
    Visit store
  • Grooves-Inc.comNew

    Availability unknown

    $453.76Observed Nov 3, 2026, 3:57 AM
    Visit store

Also available at

  • eBayCheck price at eBay
  • Good e-ReaderCheck price at Good e-Reader
  • LambdaTekCheck price at LambdaTek
All 4 stores and price history →

Specs compared

SpecAmazon Kindle ScribeAmazon Kindle (2026)
Display TypeE-inkE Ink
Display Size10.2 in—
Touch ScreenYes—
Light IncludedYes—
Lighting TypeFront light, Warm light—
BrightnessAdjustable color temperature, Adjustable warm l…—
Expandable MemoryNo—
Battery TypeLithium-ion—
MaterialRecycled polyester (100%)—
Text Format SupportPDF—

What reviewers say

Amazon Kindle Scribe

Owners rate it highly, at 4.7 out of 5 from 619 ratings, and most praise the big, crisp screen and the natural writing feel. Complaints center on its size and weight for reading and on the limited note-taking software.

Pros
  • Crisp, paper-like 10.2-inch screen
  • Comfortable handwriting with the included pen
  • Warm light makes night reading easy
  • Long battery life
Cons
  • Heavy and awkward to hold for long reading sessions
  • Note and PDF tools are basic
  • No waterproofing

Questions and answers

Which is better for taking notes?
The Scribe. It ships with a pen and lets you write directly in books and PDFs and use it as a journal or planner. The Kindle (2026) has no pen support.
Which is better for reading novels?
The Kindle (2026). Its 6-inch body is lighter and easier to hold one-handed, and it costs $149.99 at Best Buy versus $275.49 for the Scribe at eBay as of November 3, 2026.
Is the Scribe worth the extra $125?
Only if you will use handwriting and PDF markup. If you just read, the base Kindle does the same job for less and is easier to carry.
Which has better battery life?
The Kindle (2026) is rated up to 6 weeks. The Scribe is rated for weeks per charge, but its larger lit screen and pen use will draw more.
Can I read in the bath with either?
The Scribe is listed as not waterproof. The Kindle (2026) has no water resistance listed either, so treat both as dry-use devices.
Which is easier to carry?
The Kindle (2026). At 6 inches it fits a coat pocket; the Scribe is 10.2 inches and 433 g.

More comparisons

  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite vs Amazon Kindle Scribe
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite vs Amazon Kindle (2026)

Buying guides that pick them

  • Best e-readers
Cons
  • Not waterproof, so keep it away from the bath and pool
  • 433 g is heavy for one-handed reading
  • No expandable storage
  • Costs about $125 more than the base Kindle
  • No AC adapter in the box
Amazon
Amazon Kindle (2026)

Amazon Kindle (2026)

$142.99at eBayVerified
Visit store

Choose the Kindle (2026) if you read mostly novels, want a pocketable 6-inch reader, and would rather spend $149.99 than $275.49.

Pros
  • $149.99 at Best Buy as of November 3, 2026
  • Light 6-inch body is easy to hold for long sessions
  • Up to 6 weeks of battery life
  • 16 GB holds a large library
  • Reads ePub, PDF, TXT, RTF, DOC, and PRC
Cons
  • No pen or note-taking
  • Small screen is cramped for PDFs and textbooks
  • No warm light or color temperature control listed
  • No water resistance listed
  • No Bluetooth audio listed
$149.99 at Best Buy

Amazon Kindle (2026)

  • Best BuyNew

    In stock

    $149.99Free shippingObserved at 10:45 PM
    Visit store
  • TargetNew

    In stock

    $149.99Free shippingObserved at 10:45 PM
    Visit store
  • eBayNew

    Availability unknownSold by dnaelectronics (98% positive, 51 ratings)Returns: Set by the eBay seller; the eBay Money Back Guarantee covers an item that doesn't arrive or isn't as described.

    $142.99Free shippingVerified
    Visit store
  • Lowe'sNew

    Out of stock

    $149.99+ $80.00 shippingObserved at 10:45 PM
    Visit store
All 4 stores and price history →
Multimedia Support
Audiobooks, Image viewing, GIF, JPEG, PNG
—
Water ResistanceNot waterproof—
Show all 29 specsShow fewer specs
SpecAmazon Kindle ScribeAmazon Kindle (2026)
Water ResistantNo—
Connectivity PortsUSB-C—
Supported TechnologiesWi-Fi—
Wireless ConnectivityWi-Fi, Yes—
Memory Card SupportNo—
USB PortYes—
Bluetooth SupportYes—
Weight433 g—
StyleRedesigned flush-front display with uniform whi…—
Power Input TypeUSB-C—
AC Adapter IncludedNo—
Connectivity—Wi-Fi
Multimedia—Audio Playback, Photo Viewer
Text Format—ePub, PDF, TXT, RTF, DOC, PRC
Screen Size—6 inches screen
Capacity—16 GB
Battery Life—6 weeks battery