Bambu Lab A1 with AMS Lite vs Bambu Lab P1S with AMS
Buy the A1 with AMS Lite for PLA, PETG and TPU work in an open room, where its 500 mm/s toolhead and 10000 mm/s² acceleration are easy to live with. Buy the P1S with AMS if you print ABS or ASA, since its enclosed frame holds heat and keeps fumes and drafts out. Prices move a lot: the A1 combo ranged from $305.00 to $332.41 between October 28 and October 30, 2026, while the P1S listing showed $11.36 to $349.00 in the same window, so check the current store price before ordering.
Ask our shopping agent

Bambu Lab A1 with AMS Lite
Choose the A1 with AMS Lite if you print mostly PLA, PETG, TPU or PVA and want the faster open-frame machine for props and standard models.
Pros
- Fast 500 mm/s toolhead and 10000 mm/s² acceleration.
- All-metal hotend to 300°C with a stainless steel nozzle.
- Filament runout, tangle and odometry sensors plus power-loss recovery.
- AMS Lite handles multi-color without an enclosure.
- Reviewers call it reliable and easy to assemble once running.
Cons
- Open frame makes ABS and ASA prone to warping and drafts.
- No camera listed for remote monitoring.
What separates them
| Bambu Lab A1 with AMS Lite | Bambu Lab P1S with AMS | |
|---|---|---|
| Frame | Open frame, no enclosure | Fully enclosed |
| High-temp materials | PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA listed as ideal; 300°C hotend | Marketed for ABS and ASA on a budget; 300°C nozzle |
| Build volume | 256 x 256 x 256 mm | 256 x 256 x 256 mm |
| Max toolhead speed | 500 mm/s, 10000 mm/s² acceleration | Not stated in the listing |
| Camera | Not listed | Built-in camera for remote monitoring and timelapse |
| Bed leveling | Automatic, with calibration routine | Auto bed leveling |
| Setup time | Easy to assemble per reviewers, but one reported calibration errors after an update | About 15 minutes out of the box |
Price history
$349.00$11.36
- Bambu Lab A1 with AMS Lite: lowest $305.00 on Oct 30 at Amazon; $305.00 on Nov 1.
- Bambu Lab P1S with AMS: lowest $11.36 on Oct 28; $349.00 on Nov 1.
Prices at every store
Bambu Lab A1 with AMS Lite
- 3dpartnershop.comCheck price at 3dpartnershop.com
- AmazonCheck price at Amazon
- Eolas PrintsCheck price at Eolas Prints
Bambu Lab P1S with AMS
- 3D Printing CanadaCheck price at 3D Printing Canada
- AmazonCheck price at Amazon
- B&H Photo-Video-AudioCheck price at B&H Photo-Video-Audio
Specs compared
| Spec | Bambu Lab A1 with AMS Lite | Bambu Lab P1S with AMS |
|---|---|---|
| Color | Silver | Black |
| Build Volume | 256mm x 256mm x 256mm | — |
| Max Tool Head Speed | 500 mm/s | — |
| Max Acceleration | 10000 mm/s² | — |
| Max Build Plate Temperature | 100℃ | — |
| Product Size | 385mm*410mm*430mm | — |
| Net Weight | 8.3 kg | — |
| Combo Package Size | 586mm*536mm*425mm | — |
| Combo Gross Weight | 15 kg | — |
| Input Voltage | 100-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz | — |
| Max Power |
Questions and answers
- Which is better for ABS and ASA?
- The P1S. Its enclosed frame traps heat and blocks drafts, which is what ABS and ASA need to avoid warping. The A1 is open and Bambu Lab lists PLA, PETG, TPU and PVA as its ideal materials.
- Is the A1 faster than the P1S?
- On paper yes. The A1 lists a 500 mm/s toolhead and 10000 mm/s² acceleration. The P1S listing does not state speed figures, so compare real print times for your models rather than trusting the headline number.
- Do they print the same size?
- Yes. Both have a 256 x 256 x 256 mm build volume, so a model that fits one fits the other. The choice comes down to materials and enclosure, not size.
- Is the P1S worth the extra over the A1?
- Only if you print ABS or ASA or want the built-in camera. For PLA and PETG the A1 does the job, and its recent prices of $305.00 to $332.41 were well below the P1S high of $349.00.
- Which needs less setup?
- The P1S, which Bambu Lab says is ready in about 15 minutes. A1 reviewers found it easy to assemble once running, but one reported calibration errors after a software update.
- Which has better sensors?
- The A1 lists filament runout, tangle and odometry sensors plus power-loss recovery. The P1S listing does not detail these, so check the spec sheet before relying on them.
