Lenovo Legion Pro 5i 16 OLED vs HP OMEN MAX 16 Gaming Laptop
The Legion Pro 5i is the stronger machine on paper: 32GB RAM, 1TB storage, an RTX 5080 and a 24-core Ultra 9 275HX against 16GB RAM, 512GB and an unnamed Intel CPU and NVIDIA GPU. The OMEN MAX 16 only makes sense if its price is well below the Legion's, since you would likely spend the savings on more RAM and storage. No prices were provided for either laptop, so compare current store prices on Deal.ai before deciding.
Ask our shopping agent
It checks today's price at every store, compares the alternatives and answers in about a minute.
Lenovo Legion Pro 5i 16 OLED
Lenovo Legion Pro 5i 16" 2.5K OLED Gaming Laptop Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX RTX 5080
Choose the Legion Pro 5i if you want a 2025 gaming laptop with 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, an RTX 5080 and a bright 240Hz OLED panel without upgrading anything.
- 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD need no upgrades for gaming and multitasking
- RTX 5080 handles high-refresh 1440p gaming
- 24-core Ultra 9 275HX with 5.4GHz boost
What separates them
| Lenovo Legion Pro 5i 16 OLED | HP OMEN MAX 16 Gaming Laptop | |
|---|---|---|
| Memory | 32GB installed | 16GB installed, expandable to 64GB |
| Storage | 1TB SSD | 512GB SSD |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 | NVIDIA GPU, model not specified |
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX, 24 cores, up to 5.4GHz | Intel CPU at 2.7GHz, model not specified |
| Display | 16-inch 2560x1600 OLED, 240Hz, 500 nits | 16-inch 2560x1600, 240Hz |
| Ports | HDMI 2.1 plus USB | USB-C and HDMI |
| Release year | 2025 | Not stated |
Price history
- Lenovo Legion Pro 5i 16 OLED: lowest $3,979.00 on Nov 1 at Best Buy.
- HP OMEN MAX 16 Gaming Laptop: lowest $3,609.99 on Nov 5 at Target.
Prices at every store
Lenovo Legion Pro 5i 16 OLED
- eBayCheck price at eBay
- Best BuyCheck price at Best Buy
Store links may earn us a commission.
HP OMEN MAX 16 Gaming Laptop
- Best BuyCheck price at Best Buy
- Newegg.comCheck price at Newegg.com
- TargetCheck price at Target
Specs compared
| Spec | Lenovo Legion Pro 5i 16 OLED | HP OMEN MAX 16 Gaming Laptop |
|---|---|---|
| Screen Size | 16 inches | 16 inches |
| Refresh Rate | 240Hz | 240Hz |
| Processor Brand | Intel | Intel CPU |
| Screen Resolution | 2560 x 1600 | — |
| Brightness | 500 nits | — |
| Processor Model | Intel Core Ultra 9 Series 2 | — |
| CPU Base Clock Frequency | 2.1 gigahertz | — |
| Storage Type | SSD | — |
| Total Storage Capacity | 1000 gigabytes | — |
| System Memory (RAM) | 32 gigabytes | — |
What reviewers say
Lenovo Legion Pro 5i 16 OLED
Reception of the Legion Pro 5i line is generally positive, with owners praising the screen and performance for the money. Complaints tend to center on fan noise under load, weight and battery life.
- DisplayPraisedOwners rate the OLED panel for contrast and smooth 240Hz motion.
- PerformancePraisedThe Core Ultra 9 and RTX 5080 combination is described as fast for gaming and editing.
- Fan noiseCriticisedReviewers note the fans become audible under sustained load.
- Battery lifeCriticised
Questions and answers
- Which is better for gaming?
- The Legion Pro 5i. Its RTX 5080, 24-core Ultra 9 275HX and 32GB RAM outclass the OMEN's unspecified GPU and CPU with 16GB RAM.
- Is the Legion Pro 5i worth the extra money?
- If the price gap is small, yes. You get double the RAM, double the storage, a named high-end GPU and an OLED screen. If the gap is large, the OMEN may be enough for lighter games.
- Can I upgrade the OMEN MAX 16?
- It supports up to 64GB RAM, so memory is upgradeable. Storage starts at 512GB, and you should confirm whether a second SSD slot exists before buying.
- Which has the better screen?
- The Legion Pro 5i, because it is OLED at 500 nits. Both are 16-inch 2560x1600 at 240Hz, so motion smoothness is equal.
- Which lasts longer on a charge?
- Neither maker gives a battery figure here. Large gaming laptops like these typically run a few hours unplugged, and the Legion's OLED and RTX 5080 draw more power.
- Do either have HDMI 2.1?
- The Legion Pro 5i lists HDMI 2.1. The OMEN MAX 16 lists HDMI and USB-C but not the version.