Black FridayDealsBuying guidesBrandsStoresTermsPrivacydeal.ai apps

© Deal.ai Inc.

Deal.ai › Compare

Milwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout vs 20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)

Buy the DeWalt 3-tool kit if you are setting up for woodworking: you get a router, jig saw and orbital sander plus a 5.0Ah and a 2.0Ah battery. Buy the Milwaukee 2-piece kit if you want a compact 12V drill/driver setup that packs into Packout storage. The DeWalt kit has ranged from $360.00 (October 31) to $386.44 (November 1); no current price was given for the Milwaukee kit.

Ask our shopping agent

Enter to send, Shift+Enter for a new line

Milwaukee
Milwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout

Milwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout

Choose the Milwaukee 2-piece Packout kit if you want a small 12V brushless setup with two batteries and Packout-compatible storage.

Pros
  • Light at 12.43 lb for a two-piece kit
  • Brushless motor with 1,300 in-lb of torque
  • Two batteries included
5-year tool warranty
  • Packout storage works with other Milwaukee Packout gear
  • Cons
    • Only two tools
    • 12V platform limits heavy-duty use
    • No router, jig saw or sander
    • No price given for comparison
    DeWalt
    20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)

    20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)

    4.8· 65 ratings

    Choose the DeWalt 3-tool kit if you need a router, jig saw and sander for woodworking and want a 5.0Ah battery in the box.

    Pros
    • Three tools cover routing, curved cuts and sanding
    • 20V platform with a 5.0Ah battery for longer runtime
    • Variable speed sander and 4-position orbital jig saw
    • Dual LEDs on the router for bit visibility
    • Rated 4.8 out of 5 from 65 ratings
    Cons
    • Heavier at 16.35 lb
    • Soft bag offers less protection than a hard case
    • Only one high-capacity battery
    • Warranty terms not stated in the listing

    What separates them

    Milwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)
    Tool count2 pieces3 tools (router, jig saw, sander)
    Voltage12 V20 V Max
    Batteries included2 lithium-ionOne 5.0Ah and one 2.0Ah
    MotorBrushlessBrushless XR
    StoragePackout-compatibleSoft contractor bag
    Weight12.43 lb16.35 lb
    Warranty5 years tool, 2 years batteryNot stated in the listing
    PriceNot given$360.00 on October 31 to $386.44 on November 1

    Price history

    $386.44$239.99
    Oct 31Nov 1
    • Milwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout: lowest $239.99 on Nov 1 at Amazon.
    • 20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool): lowest $360.00 on Oct 31 at eBay; $386.44 on Nov 1.

    Prices at every store

    Milwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout

    • AmazonCheck price at Amazon
    Prices and history →

    20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)

    • AmazonCheck price at Amazon
    • eBayCheck price at eBay
    • Home DepotCheck price at Home Depot
    Prices and history →

    Specs compared

    SpecMilwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)
    Battery TypeLithium-IonLithium ion (Li-ion)
    Motor TypeBrushlessBrushless
    Number of Batteries22
    Power SourceBatteryCordless
    Voltage12 V—
    Number of Pieces2—
    Batteries IncludedBatteries Included—
    Torque1300 in—
    Item Weight12.43lbs.—
    ColorRed—
    Warranty5 Years (Tool), 2 Years (Battery)—
    Number Of Tools—3
    Show all 23 specsShow fewer specs
    SpecMilwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)
    Tool Components—LED
    Battery Voltage—20V
    Speed—Variable speed
    Included Accessories—Charger
    Case Included—Yes
    Case Type—Soft, Contractor bag
    Weight—16.350 LB
    Material—Plastic (fixed base of compact router)
    Colors—Yellow/black
    Intended Application

    What reviewers say

    Milwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout

    Owners of Milwaukee M12 Fuel tools generally rate the platform highly for power-to-size ratio and battery life. Packout cases draw praise for stacking and durability, though some find them bulky for a small 12 V kit.

    Pros
    • Strong torque for a 12 V tool
    • Good battery life with the included lithium-ion packs
    • Packout storage is durable and stacks well
    • Long tool warranty backs the purchase
    Cons
    • Packout case is bulky for a compact kit
    • 12 V tools struggle with heavy tasks
    • Kit price can run higher than bare-tool buys

    20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)

    The kit holds a 4.8 out of 5 from 65 ratings. Owners tend to be woodworkers who already run DeWalt 20V batteries and value getting three brushless tools at once.

    Pros
    • Brushless tools run cool and last through long sanding and routing sessions
    • Router LEDs make bit placement easier in dim shops
    • Jigsaw orbital settings cut cleanly through thick stock
    • Battery sharing across existing DeWalt 20V tools
    Cons
    • Plastic router base flexes under heavy cuts
    • Wish it came with two larger batteries instead of one compact
    • Bag is basic for the kit's weight

    Questions and answers

    Which is better for woodworking?
    The DeWalt kit. It includes a compact router, a jig saw and a 5 in. orbital sander, which covers more woodworking tasks than the Milwaukee two-piece kit.
    Which has more power?
    The DeWalt runs on 20V Max batteries; the Milwaukee kit is 12V. The Milwaukee lists 1,300 in-lb of torque, but the DeWalt's higher voltage generally suits heavier cutting and sanding.
    Which is easier to carry?
    The Milwaukee kit weighs 12.43 lb versus 16.35 lb for the DeWalt. The Milwaukee also packs into Packout storage rather than a soft bag.
    Is the DeWalt kit worth the extra?
    It depends on the Milwaukee price, which was not given. At $360.00 to $386.44 the DeWalt kit buys three tools and a 5.0Ah battery, which is good value if you need a router and sander.
    Which has the better warranty?
    Milwaukee states 5 years on the tool and 2 years on the battery. The DeWalt listing does not state warranty terms, so check before buying.
    Do both include batteries and a charger?
    Yes. Both include two lithium-ion batteries, and the DeWalt listing also names a charger.

    More comparisons

    • Milwaukee M18 FUEL 3-Piece PACKOUT Combo Kits 2997-23SPO vs Milwaukee 2 Piece Combo Kit with Packout
    • Milwaukee M18 FUEL 3-Piece PACKOUT Combo Kits 2997-23SPO vs 20-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit with Tough Case (3-Tool)
    —
    Sanding
    Typical Users—ADULT