DealsBuying guidesBrandsStoresTermsPrivacydeal.ai apps

© Deal.ai Inc.

Deal.ai › Compare

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable Spinner vs Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner

Buy the Travelpro Maxlite 5 if you want a checked-size softside with 91 L of packing space and a lower price. Buy the Samsonite Outline Pro if you want a hardside carry-on with a TSA lock and USB port. The Travelpro is $148.00 at Amazon as of November 3, 2026, and the Samsonite is $157.49 at Staples as of the same date. The gap is about $9.50, so price should not decide it.

Today the Travelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable Spinner costs $9.49 less at its best price.

Ask our shopping agent

Enter to send, Shift+Enter for a new line

Travelpro
Travelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable Spinner

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable Spinner

4.5· 3,700 ratings
$148.00at AmazonObserved Nov 2, 2026, 6:14 PM

Choose the Travelpro Maxlite 5 if you need a large expandable checked bag that stays light and rolls on four spinner wheels.

Pros
  • 91 L capacity with 2 in of expansion for long trips
  • Light for its size at 7.3 lbs
  • Front and side pockets plus full-length lid pocket keep gear organized
  • Water-repellent DuraGuard coating on the fabric
  • Tapered shape resists tipping when packed full
Cons
  • Soft shell offers less protection for fragile items

What separates them

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable SpinnerSamsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner
Shell typeSoft-sided polyester with DuraGuard water-repellent coatingHardside polypropylene/polyurethane
Weight7.3 lbs empty6.4 lbs
Capacity91 L, expands up to 2 in moreCarry-on size, no expansion listed
SecurityZipper closure, no built-in lockBuilt-in TSA lock
ChargingNoneBuilt-in USB port on carry-on sizes
Wheels4-wheel spinners, 360 degreesDual spinner wheels
HandlePowerScope Lite with stops at 38 in and 42.5 inMulti-stop Right Height adjustable trolley
WarrantyNot stated in the listing

Price history

$167.99$148.00
Oct 30Nov 3
  • Travelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable Spinner: lowest $148.00 on Nov 2 at Luggage Pros.
  • Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner: lowest $157.49 on Nov 2 at Staples; $157.95 on Nov 3.

Prices at every store

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable Spinner

  • JCPenneyNew

    In stock

    $161.99Observed Nov 2, 2026, 2:33 PM
    Visit store
  • Kohl'sNew

    In stock

    $255.99Free shippingObserved Nov 2, 2026, 6:55 PM
    Visit store
  • AmazonNew

    Availability unknown

    $148.00Free shippingObserved Nov 2, 2026, 6:14 PM
    Visit store
  • eBayNew

    Availability unknown

    $165.00Observed Nov 2, 2026, 6:55 PM
    Visit store

Also available at

  • Voyage LuggageCheck price at Voyage Luggage
  • InstacartCheck price at Instacart
  • Luggage ProsCheck price at Luggage Pros

Specs compared

SpecTravelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable SpinnerSamsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner
Weight6.8 lbs.6.4 lb
Construction TypeSoft-sided—
Empty Weight7.3 lbs—
Volume91 L—
Depth11 in.—
Height25 in. (Case Dimensions)—
Width18 in. (Case Dimensions)—
Expanded DepthUp to 2 in—
Closure TypeZipper—
Water ResistanceMoisture resistance—
Wheels

Questions and answers

Which is better for a two-week trip?
The Travelpro Maxlite 5. Its 91 L capacity and 2 in of expansion hold far more than the Samsonite carry-on.
Which is better for a weekend flight?
The Samsonite Outline Pro. It is a carry-on size, so you skip the bag claim, and the TSA lock and USB port help in the airport.
Which lasts longer?
The Samsonite carries a limited lifetime warranty, which the Travelpro listing does not state. Hardside shells can crack, while softside fabric can tear, so neither is clearly tougher.
Is the Samsonite worth the extra $9.50?
Yes if you want a hardside carry-on with a TSA lock and USB port. No if you need checked-bag capacity, which only the Travelpro offers.
Does the Travelpro have a lock?
No built-in lock is listed. You would add a TSA-approved padlock for the zippers.
Which rolls more smoothly?
Both use four spinner wheels. The Travelpro lists 360-degree rotation, and the Samsonite lists dual spinner wheels, so expect similar handling.

More comparisons

  • Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner vs Away The Bigger Carry-On Luggage
  • Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner vs Monos Hybrid Carry-On
  • Samsonite Freeform Hardside Expandable Spinner vs Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner
  • Carry-On Pro vs Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner
  • Travelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable Spinner vs Samsonite Freeform Hardside Spinner
  • Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner vs Away The Carry-On
  • Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner vs Samsonite Freeform Hardside Spinner

Buying guides that pick them

  • Best carry-on luggage
  • Best hardside carry-on spinner suitcases
  • Best carry-on and check-in spinner suitcases
No built-in TSA lock
  • Checked size, so it cannot go in the cabin
  • Heavier than the Samsonite at 7.3 lbs
  • Samsonite
    Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner

    Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner

    4.6· 5,537 ratings
    $157.49at StaplesObserved Nov 2, 2026, 6:12 PM

    Choose the Samsonite Outline Pro if you want a hard shell carry-on with a built-in TSA lock and USB charging port.

    Pros
    • Hardside shell protects contents and resists rain
    • Built-in TSA lock speeds up security checks
    • USB port lets you charge a phone at the gate
    • 6.4 lbs, lighter than the Travelpro
    • Limited lifetime warranty
    Cons
    • Carry-on size only, with no expansion
    • Hardside shells can crack under rough handling
    • Fewer exterior pockets for quick access
    • USB port needs your own power bank
    Limited lifetime warranty
    All 4 stores and price history →

    Samsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner

    • StaplesNew

      In stock

      $157.49Observed Nov 2, 2026, 6:12 PM
      Visit store
    • Macy'sNew

      In stock

      $167.99Observed at 7:47 AM
      Visit store
    • BelkNew

      Availability unknown

      $161.00Observed at 4:37 AM
      Visit store
    • Best BuyNew

      Availability unknown

      $209.99Observed at 7:47 AM
      Visit store

    Also available at

    • Bloomingdale'sCheck price at Bloomingdale's
    • Dillard'sCheck price at Dillard's
    • Luggage BaseCheck price at Luggage Base
    All 8 stores and price history →
    4-wheel spinners
    —
    Mobility Handle TypeTelescopic—
    Show all 40 specsShow fewer specs
    SpecTravelpro Maxlite 5 Expandable SpinnerSamsonite Outline Pro Carry On Spinner
    Exterior TypeChecked—
    Exterior PocketsFront pocket—
    Handle TypePowerScope Lite handle, Contour Grip—
    Number Of Handles2+—
    Body MaterialPolyester fabric—
    Handle MaterialRubberized touchpoints—
    Compartment TypeSide accessory pocket, Front pocket, Full-lengt…—
    Number Of Compartments3—
    CollectionMaxlite 5—
    Design HighlightsTapered shape (to prevent tipping)—
    Interior Lining MaterialECOFAB™ interior lining—
    Set / Single—Single
    Mobility—Spinner
    Hard Shell—Yes
    Color—Midnight Black
    Pattern—Solid
    Size—30" Check-in
    Number of Wheels—4
    Shell Type—Hardside
    Age Group—All Ages
    Luggage Height—Under 20"
    of Compartments—3
    Luggage Pattern—Solid
    Width in Inches—14.5
    Color Family—Gray/Silver
    Luggage Material—Plastic
    Series or Collection—Outline Pro
    Suitcase & Luggage Type—Suitcase