DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery
Buy the DCB2104 4Ah POWERPACK if you want the newer tabless cell design, more power per pack and a 3-year warranty. Buy the DCB205 5.0Ah if you want the most runtime per charge and a lower price. The DCB2104's lowest recent price was $51.99 on October 29, 2026, against $63.70 on November 2, 2026; no price was given for the DCB205.
Ask our shopping agent

DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)
5Choose the DCB2104 POWERPACK if you run high-draw tools like grinders or saws and want the stronger, longer-life pack with a 3-year warranty.
Pros
- Tabless cells aim for longer life across charge cycles
- Rated 50% more power than the DCB240 4Ah pack
- Overmolded base resists jobsite knocks
- 3-year limited warranty
- LED charge indicator
Cons
- 4Ah holds less charge than the 5Ah pack
- Only 2 ratings so far
- Weight not published
What separates them
| DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) | DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery | |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 4Ah | 5Ah |
| Cell design | Tabless cells, rated 50% more power than the DCB240 | Standard cylindrical lithium-ion cells |
| Warranty | 3-year limited warranty | Not stated in the listing |
| Weight | Not stated | 1.4 lb |
| Charge time | Not stated | About 30 minutes on a 4-amp charger |
| Charge indicator | LED state-of-charge indicator | 3-LED fuel gauge |
| Durability build | Overmolded base for impact and wear | Standard housing |
| Shopper rating |
Price history
$63.70$51.99
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104): lowest $51.99 on Oct 29 at eBay; $63.70 on Nov 2.
- DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery: lowest $61.92 on Nov 2 at Walmart.
Prices at every store
DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)
- Mass DepotCheck price at Mass Depot
- Ace Tool GroupCheck price at Ace Tool Group
- Pro Serve USCheck price at Pro Serve US
DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery
- AmazonCheck price at Amazon
- Home DepotCheck price at Home Depot
- WalmartCheck price at Walmart
Specs compared
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) | DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity | 4Ah | 5 Ah |
| Power source | Battery | Cordless |
| Voltage | 20V | — |
| Nominal voltage | 18 | — |
| Product type | Battery | — |
| Cordless or corded | Cordless | — |
| Batteries included | 1 | — |
| Cell technology | tabless cell technology | — |
| State of charge | LED indicator | — |
| Base design | overmolded base | — |
Questions and answers
- Which battery lasts longer on one charge?
- The DCB205, at 5Ah versus 4Ah. Expect roughly 25% more runtime per charge from the DCB205 under the same load.
- Which has a longer service life?
- The DCB2104 is the safer bet. Its tabless cell design is built for more charge cycles, and it carries a 3-year limited warranty.
- Which is better for a grinder or circular saw?
- The DCB2104. DeWalt rates it at 50% more power than the DCB240, which helps in high-draw tools. The DCB205 still wins on runtime.
- Do both fit my DeWalt 20V MAX tools?
- Yes. Both are 20V MAX packs and work with the same tools and chargers, including the DCB1104 4-amp charger.
- Is the DCB2104 worth the extra money?
- At $51.99 on October 29, 2026 it was cheaper than its own $63.70 high on November 2, 2026. If you want the newer cells and the warranty, yes; if you only want runtime, the 5Ah pack does that better.
- How fast do they charge?
- The DCB205 charges in about 30 minutes on a 4-amp charger. DeWalt does not publish a charge time for the DCB2104.
More comparisons
- DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) vs DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)
- DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) vs DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWalt DCB2108 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8 Ah Battery
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DEWALT 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204
- DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204 vs DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery