DealsBuying guidesBrandsStoresTermsPrivacydeal.ai apps

© Deal.ai Inc.

Deal.ai › Compare

DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204

Buy the DCB2104 for heavy daily use in high-draw tools. Its tabless cells and overmolded base are built for repeated charge cycles, and it is the newer pack. Buy the DCB204 if you want the proven, lighter XR pack and the lowest price. The DCB2104 has no listed store price; the DCB204 is $57.00 at Amazon as of November 3, 2026.

Ask our shopping agent

Enter to send, Shift+Enter for a new line

DeWalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)

DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)

5· 2 ratings

Choose the DCB2104 if your 20V MAX tools run hard every day and you want the newer tabless-cell pack with a 3-year warranty.

Pros
  • Tabless cell design for more output in high-draw tools
  • Overmolded base resists jobsite impact
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • LED charge indicator
Cons
  • No store price listed, so cost is unclear
  • Only 2 ratings
  • Weight not published
DEWALT
DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204

What separates them

DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204
Cell technologyTabless cells, rated 50% more power than the DCB240Standard cylindrical XR cells
WeightNot listed1.42 lbs
Charge indicatorLED state-of-charge indicator3-LED fuel gauge
BuildOvermolded base for impact wearStandard housing
Warranty3-year limitedNot stated
Capacity4Ah4Ah, rated 33% more than standard 20V MAX packs
PriceNo store price listed$57.00 at Amazon as of November 3, 2026
Ratings5 out of 5 from 2 ratings

Price history

$129.99$51.99
Oct 29Nov 3
  • DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104): lowest $51.99 on Oct 29 at eBay; $63.70 on Nov 2.
  • DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204: lowest $57.00 on Nov 3 at Amazon.

Prices at every store

DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)

  • Mass DepotCheck price at Mass Depot
  • Ace Tool GroupCheck price at Ace Tool Group
  • Pro Serve USCheck price at Pro Serve US
Prices and history →

DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204

  • Fleet FarmNew

    In stock

    $129.99+ $12.99 shippingObserved Nov 2, 2026, 4:13 PM
    Visit store
  • AmazonNew

    Availability unknown

    $57.00Free shippingObserved at 7:24 PM
    Visit store
  • The Home DepotNew

    Availability unknown

    $76.65Observed at 7:24 PM
    Visit store
  • Lowe'sNew

    Availability unknown

    $149.00Free shippingObserved Nov 2, 2026, 4:13 PM
    Visit store

Also available at

  • WalmartCheck price at Walmart

Specs compared

SpecDEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204
Battery capacity4Ah—
Voltage20V—
Nominal voltage18—
Product typeBattery—
Cordless or cordedCordless—
Power sourceBattery—
Batteries included1—
Cell technologytabless cell technology—
State of chargeLED indicator—
Base designovermolded base—
Warranty

Questions and answers

Which lasts longer, the DCB2104 or the DCB204?
DeWalt rates the DCB2104's tabless cells for longer life across charge cycles. The DCB204 has no published cycle-life figure, so the DCB2104 is the safer bet for daily rotation.
Is the DCB2104 worth the extra over the DCB204?
Only if you run high-draw tools hard. The DCB2104 adds tabless cells, an overmolded base and a 3-year warranty. The DCB204 is lighter and has a known price of $57.00 at Amazon as of November 3, 2026.
Do both fit the same tools?
Yes. Both are 20V MAX packs and fit DeWalt 20V MAX tools and chargers.
Which is lighter to carry?
The DCB204, at 1.42 lbs. DeWalt does not publish a weight for the DCB2104.
Which has more capacity?
They are both 4Ah. The DCB204 is rated 33% more capacity than standard 20V MAX packs; the DCB2104 is rated 50% more power than the DCB240.
Can I check charge without a tool?
Yes. Both have built-in indicators: an LED state-of-charge indicator on the DCB2104 and a 3-LED fuel gauge on the DCB204.

More comparisons

  • DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery
  • DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) vs DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)
  • DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWalt DCB2108 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8 Ah Battery
  • DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DEWALT 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack
  • DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204 vs DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery
  • DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) vs DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204
  • DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB205) vs DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204

Buying guides that pick them

  • Best DeWalt 20V MAX lithium-ion battery packs

DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204

4.2· 51 ratings
$57.00at AmazonObserved at 7:24 PM

Choose the DCB204 if you want a light 1.42 lb XR pack at a known price of $57.00 at Amazon as of November 3, 2026.

Pros
  • Light at 1.42 lbs
  • 3-LED fuel gauge
  • Low self-discharge and no memory effect
  • 51 ratings and a known $57.00 price at Amazon as of November 3, 2026
Cons
  • Older cell design than the DCB2104
  • Warranty not stated
  • Standard housing, no overmolded base
4.2 out of 5 from 51 ratings
All 4 stores and price history →
3 Year Limited Warranty
—
Tool compatibilitycompatible with 20V MAX* tools—
Show all 13 specsShow fewer specs
SpecDEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204
color—Yellow
  • Best DeWalt 20V MAX XR battery packs under $100