DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) vs DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104)
Buy the DCB2104 if you want the newer pack: tabless cells, an overmolded base and a 3-year limited warranty. Buy the DCB204 if you want the cheapest proven 4Ah pack and don't need the extra durability. The DCB2104 has ranged from $51.99 to $63.70 since October 29, while the DCB204 has held at $57.00 to $57.49 at Amazon as of November 3, 2026.
Ask our shopping agent
DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204)
$57.00at AmazonObserved at 7:24 PM
Choose the DCB204 if you want a low-cost, widely compatible 4Ah pack and the lowest price matters more than cell design.
Pros
- Cheap for a 4Ah pack: $57.00 at Amazon as of November 3, 2026
- Stable price, only 49 cents of movement since October 29
- 1.42 lbs and a listed charge time of about 45 minutes
- Works with DeWalt 20V MAX chargers DCB115, DCB101, DCB102, DCB103 and DCB104
Cons
- Older cell design with no tabless cells
- No stated warranty in the listing
What separates them
| DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) | DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) | |
|---|---|---|
| Cell technology | Standard lithium-ion cells | Tabless cell technology |
| Stated power | Not specified beyond 20V MAX 4Ah | 50% more power than the DCB240, per DeWalt |
| Base design | Plastic housing | Overmolded base for impact wear |
| Warranty | Not stated in the listing | 3-year limited warranty |
| Charge indicator | LED indicator | LED state-of-charge indicator |
| Weight | 1.42 lbs | Not stated |
| Price range since Oct 29, 2026 | $57.00 to $57.49 at Amazon | $51.99 to $63.70 |
Price history
$63.70$51.99
- DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204): lowest $57.00 on Nov 3 at Amazon.
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104): lowest $51.99 on Oct 29 at eBay; $63.70 on Nov 2.
Prices at every store
DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204)
- WalmartNew
In stockSold by M & A Sales
$57.49Free shippingObserved Nov 2, 2026, 4:13 PM - Fleet FarmNew
In stock
$129.99+ $12.99 shippingObserved Nov 2, 2026, 4:13 PM - AmazonNew
Availability unknown
$57.00Free shippingObserved at 7:24 PM - The Home DepotNew
Availability unknown
$76.65Observed at 7:24 PM
Also available at
- eBayCheck price at eBay
- WalmartCheck price at Walmart
- JPC CatalogCheck price at JPC Catalog
Specs compared
| Spec | DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) | DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) |
|---|---|---|
| Power Source | Cordless | Battery |
| Battery Capacity | 4 Ah | 4Ah |
| Power Voltage | 20 V | — |
| Battery Voltage | 20V | — |
| Battery Type | Lithium Ion, Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) | — |
| Number Of Batteries Included | 1 | — |
| Battery Charge Time | 0.75 hours | — |
| Weight | 1.42 lbs | — |
| Height | 3.625 in (Package Height) | — |
| Length | 7 in | — |
Questions and answers
- Which pack lasts longer?
- The DCB2104 is the better bet. Its tabless cells are designed for more cycles, and it carries a 3-year limited warranty. The DCB204 has no stated warranty.
- Is the DCB2104 worth the extra money?
- At the recent lows, it costs less, not more: $51.99 versus $57.00. Pay the small premium only if the price gap widens; the newer cells and warranty justify a few dollars.
- Do both fit the same tools?
- Yes. Both are DeWalt 20V MAX packs and fit 20V MAX tools. The DCB204 listing also names chargers DCB115, DCB101, DCB102, DCB103 and DCB104.
- Which is better for daily jobsite use?
- The DCB2104. The overmolded base handles drops and wear better, and the tabless cells are built for constant charge cycles.
- Which is lighter?
- The DCB204 is listed at 1.42 lbs. DeWalt does not publish a weight for the DCB2104, so expect them to be close.
- Which has the better price right now?
- The DCB2104 has traded between $51.99 and $63.70 since October 29, 2026. The DCB204 was $57.00 at Amazon as of November 3, 2026.
More comparisons
- DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) vs DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWalt 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 5.0Ah Battery
- DeWalt 20V MAX Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack (DCB204) vs DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWalt DCB2108 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8 Ah Battery
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DEWALT 20V MAX XR Premium Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Battery Pack
- DEWALT 20V MAX Battery XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium Ion Battery (DCB2104) vs DeWALT Max XR Lithium-Ion 20V 4Ah Battery DCB204
